Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Team Dean

I first watched Supernatural when it the series premiered on television. I am a great supporter of paranormal tv shows (as long as they're well executed, of course!) and I definitely took the time back in 2005 to see what this show was all about. Admittedly, I was not impressed after watching that first episode five years ago. There was way too much pretty-men drama for me and I snubbed it, judging it as a series that catered to the whims of female watchers who wants to see handsome boys have drama. Not so much a show catering to someone who just wants to see crazy ghost effects!

In 2010, I reluctantly decided to revisit the show because a few friends have become suddenly obsessed with it. To my surprise, the popularity of the show had continued to prosper all this time! Although, it is very much true that all Supernatural fans I've encountered so far are decidedly very female. I mean, come on- let's look at the photo I posted with this blog. Are we surprised? That ain't Mulder and Scully wearing their frumpy FBI, 90s suits. Those are rugged, good-looking male television leads to be hold!

This time, I skipped the first four episodes of the first season and went right to the second DVD disc. I figured, all I needed to know were these two boys are brothers and they're looking for their missing father, who happened to have raised his two sons to chase and hunt for ghosts and weird, paranormal activities. For whatever reason. I'll read it up on Wikipedia later to get a clearer plot base.

It really doesn't matter though, because I will publicly admit it here... I watched the "Bloody Mary" episode and did get freaked out. Yes. Okay. I was expecting the two guys to just prance around declaring themselves to be ever so handsome; and maybe have a ghost here and there thrown in there just to keep with the show title. Boy... I was wrong. I did not expect the show to actually put a little bit of fear in me. It's kind of hard to scare me with movies or TV.

First off, Supernatural is still reminiscent of that old late 90s touch. A little bit like Buffy the Vampire Slayer with a more late 2000 special effects. Second off, each episode I watched proved itself as its own stand alone horror/thriller film-- and as a fan of scary movies, I was hooked! Ironically, one of the episode's title was "Hook", about the ghost of a psycho priest with a hook for one hand and a penchant for punishing the wicked. The series combines old, somewhat familiar stories with just the right amount of modern gore, suspense and thrill. I must say... sadly, I have been missing out all these years! Now I have five or six seasons to catch up with!

I highly recommend it to anyone who were fans of The X-Files, or fans of scary movies in general. Sure, Dean and Sam (those are the name of the main characters, by the way) are distractingly hot but the writing of the show is excellent. The dialogue has a touch of cheesiness but I do enjoy it, but the stories are great so far. And I do love my crazy, paranormal shiznaz!!!

Labels: , , ,

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Prince Naveen is the New Aladdin


I'm just kidding- Aladdin will always have the #1 spot in my little Disney girl heart!

The moment I flew back home from my holiday trip, I promptly convinced my boyfriend to watch Disney's The Princess and the Frog in the theaters! It has been a long time since I've watched a 2D animated film from Disney in an actual movie theater. I don't even remember which movie I did see last! (Might have been Atlantis...) I suppose it would also just be repeating what a million other people have already expressed if I say I am happy to see good quality 2D animation on the big screen from Disney again. Even though people give them a lot of poop for "ruining" classic fairy tale stories. Though I find that point of view a bit narrow minded because I don't think there should be restrictions when it comes to telling or re-telling any type of stories.

Either way, I enjoyed Princess and the Frog immensely. It is not my favorite- Aladdin, The Lion King, and Treasure Planet are actually my favorite films from Disney- but it was so much fun to watch!

Putting aside all the controversies that attached itself to this film (all the accusation of racism on Disney's part, etc.), there is nothing threatening about this movie. It is a definite turn to the "modern" princess as the main female character, Tiana, lives in a more present and realistic time than the other Disney princesses. We are presented with her childhood in a lower, middle class African-American family in the South. As an older, young woman, her struggle is not against an evil stepmother, but to work hard and save money to make her own dreams come true (no fairy godmothers here!).

Although, a Disney fairy tale film would be lacking without the presence of magic! Instead of making the story simple, when Tiana kisses the frog (Prince Naveen cursed by the antagonist who dabbles in dark voo doo magic), she also turns into a frog instead of turning the Prince back to his human form!

Tiana fights her own battle throughout the movie, making friends... but not relying on someone else to break the curse. Even in the end, she owns credit for winning the final battle.

Some have reviewed the movie negatively because it doesn't "compare" to the classic Disney animation. I think that is an unfair judgement. Yes, nothing that Disney makes now will ever hold up to their older movies... but that was a different era. Disney is adapting to the new generation of entertainment for a younger audience. The classic formula is still there, but it was changed creatively to bring us something completely new! Any type of creativity shouldn't be expected to remain stagnant. This movie is a breath of fresh air from the previous Princess movies and I think it holds up on its own- just like its Princess.

Keep that chin up, Disney, and I hope this will be the re-start of a new generation of animated films!

Labels: , ,

Thursday, November 19, 2009

Viggo and I

Last night, I cozied up in front of my laptop and watched A History of Violence for the first time. I liked the movie and let's all admit that Viggo Mortensen was just smokin' in that film to make up for all that it lacked. Am I biased because I think Viggo is wonderful?!

Maybe... yes...

Then I thought to myself-- wow, just a few days ago, I touched that man and he touched me.

with Viggo Mortensen
Why yes! I am that happy, nerdy, Asian girl in glasses with Viggo's arm around me!


Do I not look like the happiest female geek on the planet in that photo or what?! The happiness had three parts: A) VIGGO MOTHERFUCKIN' MORTENSEN! B) I'm with Aragorn from Lord of the Rings, bitches and C) He couldn't have been ANY nicer. Seriously, people-- the man was lovely and patient with us slobbering fanwomen. What a true gent; and super nice celebrities make me feel fuzzy inside especially when I have the upmost respect for them.

My friend, Missy (as also seen in the photo), invited me to an advance screening of The Road, in which Viggo showed up afterwards to do a Q&A session. As far as the movie goes, for me it was incredibly dark, foreboding and depressing. I've never read the book and I'm afraid to do so because these days, I want my entertainment to lift my spirits up, not make me feel sad for the world.

Nevertheless, the movie was beautifully done with amazing performances by the whole cast. The production was unbelievable and made you feel that the Earth really was dying slowly and painfully by the dead trees, bleak weather, and the never ending overcast of just gray and dark, looming clouds. The whole world, it seemed, was in a post-apocalyptic state. How it happened? We don't know and will never know. It didn't matter because the viewer is immediately wrapped up in the lives of the two, main characters. The Man (Viggo) and his Son, struggling together and just trying to survive in what has become a brutal, dead, and very frightening world.

Apocalyptic films always affect me deeper than any horror movies can. Just the thoughts of: "That could REALLY happen one day." and "Will I survive?" gives me a little anxiety deep down. To see Viggo's character tramping through a hopeless world, running away from fallen human beings who choose to cast away their morality for survival... it's VERY scary to me. We take civilization for granted and none of us will really know what to do when it is all taken away from us in one sudden strike.

The ending, without spoiling it for anyone, is interpreted by different people. Some see hope, and some-- already so overtaken by the depression through the film-- will see none. Maybe what we see in the end of this film says something deeper about ourselves.

I updated a few clips on my youtube channel from the Q&A, but here is the end of it where Viggo makes a comment on the topic of hope. ***WARNING*** Video may be spoiler-ific!!!



To end this post on a more upbeat note!... Let us review my Fellowship Tally so far, shan't we?!

Viggo Mortensen = met 1x
Orlando Bloom = met 1x
John Rhys Davies = saw from a distance pinching womanly butts 1x
Sean Astin = met 2x
Elijah Wood = met 1x
Billy Boyd = met 2x
Dominic Monaghan = met BAJILLION TIMES IT DOESN'T COUNT ANYMORE!

BOOYAH!

Labels: , , , ,

Monday, June 22, 2009

The Food Industry... worst than the Tobacco Industry?



I went to watch the documentary called Food Inc., which I will have to HIGHLY recommend for everyone to watch.

The movie presented a lot of eye-opening facts about this country's food industry. I hope everyone is already aware that the food we are eating these days are hardly manufactured to be actually nutritious. I know a lot of people are already aware of the animal abuse that is going on with our cows, pigs, chickens, etc. I know everyone is aware of something that is "wrong" in the food industry, but we all tend to turn a blind eye a lot of times.

Heck, I know I do! I love food to the umpteenth degree and I'll shovel anything in my mouth as long as it tasted good! I'm guilty of financially serving these corrupt food corporations!

After watching this movie though, I can no longer completely feign ignorance to the truth and what is REALLY going on with the production of our food. The inhumane treatment of both animals AND people.

It's sick.

It's not even just about our meat products-- even our greens and everything else is affected and tainted. If not with e coli, it's affected by horrifying greed and corruption. The utter carelessness from the people making all the money and to what they are feeding us-- and how our farmers are truly and sadly affected by the crisis.

Eating "cheap" has a price, people. We have kids dying from e coli on a regular basis. That should NOT be the case in the 21st century. We are moving backwards and all because a select handful are making billions feeding us absolute shit.

I can't present all the facts myself in this blog entry, but I just hope to convince more people to go and watch this documentary if it happens to be playing close to you. There is a feeling of enlightenment at the end of it. Trust me. You WANT to know where your food is coming from.

Labels: , ,

Sunday, May 24, 2009

So much for 'final' frontier

I saw the new Star Trek film last week. I'm not well versed in the Star Trek mythos. My fondest memories of it is watching the original series in the afternoons one summer during high school. I don't know why I started watching it, there probably wasn't anything better on tv, but it sucked me in. I loved how camp it was and yet how important some of the messages were.

In between episodes they'd run interviews with the cast, and they would reveal what it was like to work on and how amazing it was during those years, when the whole world was in turmoil and this show was trying to find meaning in it all.

Over the years I've tried watching various re-incarnations, but I always felt like they'd missed the whole point. In fact, I feel like most science-fiction these days miss the point. Now it's all about spectacle but there was a time when science-fiction was about gaining perspective on issues that plague us now. It allowed writers to present us with a story that was familiar but so far removed from our daily knowledge that it didn't offend our sensibilities but let us think outside of the box. I think that's missing these days.

But, I'm getting side tracked. My point is, I haven't followed with the more modern Trek tv shows, and I haven't seen any of the films except Star Trek Nemesis (which was weird). So, in many ways I'd hoped this was the first Star Trek film I'd really get. And, I sort of did. I knew the characters well enough to love seeing them again on screen, even with new actors.

I think Chris Pine (Kirk) and Zachary Quinto (Spock) were amazing. In fact, Quinto was so good at being Vulcan, he made the other Vulcans appear too emotional. Pine had the toughest job, from what I could see. He had to play an arrogant bastard and make you like him. I think he did this well.

The rest of the cast I enjoyed just as much, with one exception. I liked Chekov on the TV show, but for some reason it didn't translate well in the film. He was just so over the top and so unnecessarily there, he felt really tacked on. He didn't even get to have a Monkees hair cut.

Story-wise, it was ok. There was a lot of set-up to get through and some really unnecessary chase sequences (bigger fish! and BIGGER FISH). I felt Eric Bana was bland. He was an insane evil bastard and they gave him backstory which basically didn't change the fact that he was an insane evil bastard. I really wasn't all that bothered by the plot, to be honest and got most of my amusement from Scotty.

My one irritation with the story really surprised me. It was that the writer assumed too much knowledge on the audience part. They had little to no explanation to Romulans vs Vulcans and still at this point all I can determine is that Romulans are Vulcans with tattoos and anger management issues. I can understand not wanting to patronise Trekkies, but come on! Throw me a bone here, guys. Is it that hard to have some red shirt ask "What's a romulan?" or something?

But, I'm looking forward to more and that the writing will improve now that introductions are out of the way and we're comfortable with our new crew.

Labels: , ,

Monday, March 09, 2009

Who Watches the Watchmen?



For the record, I just want to say that I wasn't one of those people who rushed to finish the comic book right before watching the movie. I read the book a few years back, thanks to the recommendation of a good friend of mine, and truly loved it for what it was. Admittedly, I was rushing to try and re-read the whole thing right before the movie because I wanted to have a fresh memory of it in its original form.

There were a lot of good things, and definitely a lot of bad things about the movie adaptation.

Mainly, I would like to applaud the entire cast-- everyone did a wonderful job bringing the characters to life in the big screen. Patrick Wilson as Nite Owl II was my definite favorite-- insta-crush for me!!! My favorite character when I read the book is Rorschach; and Walter Kovacs did an amazing, amazing job. Kudos to the acting from everyone in this film.

The visual effects were stunning, of course. I especially love watching Archie (Nite Owl's ship) come to life! Dr. Manhattan looked surreal AND real at the same time. The scenes on Mars were beautiful, especially the glass structure moving around.

My biggest peeve would have to be with the director, Zack Snyder. I won't say he's a bad director or that he did a horrid job. I enjoyed 300 too; but I think he really forced a certain style into Watchmen that worked well with 300, but not with this comic adaptation.

I LOVE stylistic violence. I will admit, I found the violence and gore in Watchmen quite awesome. Though in the end, I have to admit a lot of it was unnecessary.
What was even more embarrassing was the soft core porn between Nite Owl II and Silk Spectre II. It was definitely a '300 moment sex scene' that the movie didn't really need... but then again, that's just me. I don't know how many fanboys wet themselves over that scene but I could have done without it. I think the conversation after they had sex in the comic book was more poignant than the actual act itself, and from what I remember... it was completely left out in the movie.

A lot of things stayed true to the original and a lot of the original scenes were kept. I also understand why some things were compressed the way they were for the movie, and I thought the screenplay did a good job shortening the story but still making it cohesive.

Yet, I am still not convinced they really enunciated the right elements of the original story for the movie. In the end, despite the fact that I did enjoy the movie for what it was, I felt it was still very lacking.

I guess all I can say is if I had a choice between watching the movie or re-reading the comic book, I would say I would rather read it than view it. The comic stands stronger still and I think is much more fulfilling.

Labels: , ,

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Restaurant: Yamashiro

I had dinner at Yamashiro Restaurant in Hollywood this past weekend, which is a neat historical spot. The original building was built in 1911 by the Bernheimer brothers to house their collection of Asian treasures. During the Golden Age, it even became a celebrity hang out! You can read more about its history on the restaurant's website.

The food there was very good, though I wouldn't recommend going for the sushi. I ordered the salmon in miso cream sauce and my boyfriend ordered the sushi entreé. The sushi was okay-- nothing special, but I did expect more for the price for it! It was still good though, but I've had better. On the other hand, the salmon was amazing! I loved the taste of the miso cream sauce. We also had the Kurobuta Carnitas appetizer and it was also really good! Again, it was the sauce that made it good, which had a hint of wasabi in it, I think. For dessert, we had the chocolate souffle, which was pretty yummy too. My favorite part of the whole experience though was the sight and location itself. I love how the restaurant feels like an old Japanese castle from Kyoto-- it made my geekier side happy! The garden in the center of the restaurant was really pretty too and I kind of want to go back during one of their movie nights.

The menu is a little bit pricey though, so I'm gonna have to save up for another trip there!

Dinner @ Yamashiro /// lychee martini!!!

Labels: , ,

Friday, March 07, 2008

Do I deserve to keep on living?

I have a confession to make.

Recently, I watched both Fantastic Four movies starring Jessica Alba... and I enjoyed them.

Do I need to get shot in the head for this???

I think it was the pure cheesiness and "badness" of it all that really made me feel like I was watching a Marvel comic come to life. Not that I'm saying Marvel is bad. What I'm trying to get at is... in the old days, comics were cheesy-- but in a really good way! It's Stan Lee, for goodness sakes. He's brilliant without falling into that "edgy" trap, which is what comics these days seem to be vying for. Marvel superheroes were fun and a little campy a lot of times. These F4 movies were all about campy-ness. The cast was even almost perfect. I have mad crush on the actor who plays Reed Richards-- he suits the character so well!

Jessica Alba... well, she's hot, and her acting skills were just right for these type of movies so I have no complaints, really. I know they have to have that Hollywood face to sell even if she doesn't quite scream 'Sue Storm' to me. At least it wasn't Kirsten Dunst. Shudder.

I give these F4 movies a thumbs up since they were just fun to watch.

Plus... the uniforms didn't deviate too much from the original either!
See, guys? When you don't try too damn hard to be so "edgy" everything actually works out... coughX-Men3coughCOUGH...

Labels:

Monday, February 04, 2008

Stabby, stabby!


We all have our little morbid fascinations and one of mine are serial killers. There are nights when I would peruse websites online and read up on killers throughout history. I don't do this EVERY night... just once in a blue moon when something perks my interest again. When I heard of Showtime's new show, Dexter, I wanted to watch it soooo bad...

But. I'm always a late-comer when it comes to new things so I didn't get to watch the first season till this year (when Netflix placed the entire first season on their watch instantly section. Whoop! Though it was a bitch trying to update my media player on my desktop until I finally managed to update my laptop's so it would place netflix videos. Fuck you, Netflix, and your Windows Media Player 11 requirement).

Now, I have joined the not-so-massive-maybe?-legion of Dexter lovers.

Michael C. Hall does an amazing job with this character. Yes, there is something very sick about endearing a serial killer... but if you can resist Dexter, then I almost wonder if there's something wrong with you! It is a unique experience to sympathize with a killer– but Dexter proves it is possible. He is a killer with a code of conduct and he doesn't have 'innocent' victims. Just his own fellow serial killers. He's a sort of turncoat on his own brotherhood because he's protecting the other side from people like him.

I mean we all have an urge to kill that guy who cut you off the freeway... but you won't act on it.

... Right?

Labels: ,

Friday, January 18, 2008

Cloverfield



I am finally contributing to this blog, I hope this makes you all happy.

Last summer, all of us saw a strange and mysterious trailer that caused a lot of fuss, and raised a lot of questions. A movie with no name, only a date: 1-18-08. J.J. Abrams, the producer, probably wouldn't have it any other way.

Today, January 18th of 2008, I saw this film, now known as "Cloverfield". I was worried that this film would be a disappointment, since all the anticipation caused by the ambiguous trailers and intriguing viral campaigning could most certainly outdo the film itself.

I have to say, the movie lived up to my expectations (and they were quite high). I won't give away what "it" is that is terrorizing Manhattan exactly, but I will say that the great thing about this movie is that the point of view is always realistic. Everything we see is from a little camcorder, so we experience the terror as any person experiencing it would. The movie did start off a bit slow, but by the time chaos ensues, the story becomes intense, emotional, and at times disturbing, but always very entertaining.

I must warn though, that those of you who are not fans of the "shaky camera" (ala Bourne Supremacy/Ultimatum) will probably become annoyed. The picture can be very unsteady at times, but it is only to try to convey a sense of realism amongst the panic of what is occurring.

This is the type of movie that stays with you long after you're through watching (which is what I'm sure was intended). Although the actual premise in this film is a bit unlikely (or so we hope), the reaction of the people is not so different than that of a natural catastrophe. You find yourself questioning what your actions would be in such situations. The actions of the characters in the movie are realistic, and not preachy like some of other catastrophe movies. The ending is a bit blunt, but then again, in the real world, endings don't always have complete closure like they do in the movies.

Of course being a film associated with the cryptic J.J. Abrams, pay attention to the last scene in the movie. It gives a hint to what may have started the entire catastrophe.

And last, but not least, the best part of seeing this movie was getting to see the TEASER TRAILER FOR STAR TREK! Yes, my friends, a teaser trailer for Star Trek. My nerdiness knows no bounds.

~Gizzy

Labels:

Friday, December 14, 2007

It's almost coming to an end.

No one reads this blog, but we like to pretend people actually do! I get pure enjoyment out of it, despite the fact that the only other person writing is the website co-owner, Mjade. Isn't she fabulous though? I enjoy her entries way too much-- especially the last one about The Golden Compass.

It reminds me of our high school days when we would offend people with our elaborate rants on why we don't look a certain book or a certain movie-- and there were a lot of those. Both of us have very specific tastes. Most of the time we agree on things, and yes, we do disagree on some. I miss those days some times. I can't believe high school is already so far away, first of all!


I think about this website all the time. Although we do use the space for personal projects and file uploading, we really wanted the blog to be the heart of it. Right now, I feel like it's just the 'front' and not quite the main star yet. I guess we really haven't worked hard enough to advertise this "blog"-- though I prefer it be more of an old-school online newsletter, but with the hint of something more modern. I really need to flesh out this idea more.

I also need our other members to post here. Christ. Lazy jackasses.

For now-- 2007 is coming to an end. Mjade is flying home from England and we will be celebrating the coming of 2008 in San Francisco. We'll congratulate ourselves on this website and try to figure out how to pull an audience. We were never very good at pimping ourselves. Neither of us is willing to get naked online either, so I don't know where this leaves two cute girl geeks.

Sigh.

Happy Holidays and Happy New Years, everyone!!!

Labels:

Friday, December 07, 2007

The Golden Compass: Or how to get lost in religious debate


I read the Golden Compass and accompanying books when I was in high school. I found the first one interesting, the second one a bit odd, and the third one terrible. I went away from the trilogy wondering why everyone thought it was amazing.

Fast forward six years. I work in a games company and hang out with people who actually read. One night we got to discussing why I love 'kids' books and they assumed I must love the His Dark Materials trilogy. I revealed that I didn't like it. In actual fact, I was apathetic at that point. I didn't remember much about it except that it left a bad taste in my mouth when I finished it. They were shocked. They all felt it was a fabulous trilogy, ground breaking etc etc etc.

I began to wonder, had my teenage self miss-judged the series? Was I too self-involved, or uneducated in religious symbolism and history to understand these so-called amazing books? I wasn't sure. I hardly ever change my opinion on a book, I know what I like and what I don't like, sometimes I can even articulate why.

So, I decided that with the movie coming out shortly, it was time to reread the trilogy and see if I was incorrect in my first impression. Well...I wasn't. I still can't stand them.

The first book starts out well enough, the story is interesting, the characters somewhat compelling. I got annoyed at his bizarre choice to rename common things from our world in Lyra's just to make it more fantastical. Like he says to himself, "Hmmmmm, how do I create a believable fantasy world with the least amount of effort? I know, I'll take random words and find different root words for them. It'll make me look really clever and like I put a lot of effort into it." This concept irritated me because it threw me out of the story. I would try and imagine the scene in my head only to get stuck on a word and go, "Wait, what the hell is anbaric? Is it gas, electric, candle?" and then have to reread the passage because I'd lost the flow.

But the first book isn't that bad, all things considered. It holds together pretty well as long as he doesn't talk about Dust. It's almost as if even he can't decide what the hell Dust is.

The second book just isn't really that memorable. You get through it quickly because you know you need to. Will is so flat as a character and I really just didn't care about him. It's also in this book where everyone starts acting more like super heroes than people. The characters are presented as normal in the first book, but suddenly some of them (namely Mrs Coulter) can now do whatever they want, without proper explanation.

The third book is the worst by far. It's long and blustery and mostly pointless. More and more the characters have these insane abilities and knowledge of what they have to do, and considering this is mostly a war to get rid of God, they sure seemed blessed with powers to do so. But more on that later. My real gripe with the third one is the terrible editing. There's a good three chapters about a stupid bomb that has nothing WHAT SO EVER to do with the main plot. You could rip those pages out and nothing would be lost. Nothing. What kind of editor did this man have? Next gripe is those weird mulefas. I mean, come on. It's the same problem Star Wars books have, they create these absolutely mind blowing creatures that I can't even begin to imagine so I'm stuck with this ugly horse/elephant/on roller skates in my head.

And can we stop being all "Oooooooh be one with the earth" crap? Yes, we get it, their world is perfectly fucking balanced. It's so simplistically balanced they can explain it with elephant trunks! Not like our world where we can only begin to understand the causes and effects of the environment on larger scales and can't comprehend it on small scale at all. Yeah, that's a great piece of writing; let's point out the flaws of humanity by making a metaphor that doesn't work.

Finally, the ending of the third book just sucks. But, that's not really a gripe with his writing so much as it made me regret reading the whole series because it's such a downer. I'm not even one that has to have happy endings, but after all that bullshit you read through to get to the end and that's it? Shit, I'd rather watch Old Yeller.

Now, about this whole religious controversy, everyone keeps saying it's promoting atheism. Well, the definition of atheism is "the doctrine or belief that there is no God." It seems to me that if they're going to war with "The Authority" then in the terms that we have defined Atheism, the book isn't promoting atheism because it states there is a God. The important point is Pullman is saying the God we've come to believe isn't the creator, but that doesn't mean he's saying there isn't one. So, get off his back and stop giving the Atheists a bad name.

As for whether or not Pullman is having a go at the Catholic church, well, considering he's having a war on the one true God (which involves several religions, let's not get self-obsessed here) then he's really writing a book against all organized religions. So, everybody should be pissed off, not just the Catholics.

Personally, I don't see why the church is paying any attention. Whatever his book is saying, it's badly written and confusing so why pay it any heed? They're just drawing more attention to it. I think their time is much better spent banning Harry Potter which is at least teaching children morals and that doing what is right isn't easy. God wouldn't want that now would he/she?

Labels: ,

Saturday, August 25, 2007

Avatarding: Response

I would probably say that I am an Avatard. I own a stuffed Appa that I bought on Ebay for far too much money. I also have action figures. What can I say, I'm easily swayed by toys.

I too saw the season 3 trailer. What I'm wondering is: How can they stretch this beyond 4 seasons? Will they have the guts to end it, or cash in on the success?

As awesome as season 3 looks, I see already we are nearing the end. I knew going in that there probably wouldn't be more than 4 (since we've only got 4 elements covered). But it's been such a success, I could see Nickelodeon forcing them to continue, which, in my opinion, is bad.

As much as I love the show, I don't want it to become like SO many anime shows where there are like 70 episodes of filler and 30 of plot. I'm tired of seeing TV shows last long after their prime just to make a little more money.

That said, I can't WAIT for season 3. I want to see Toph and Katara kick major ass.

Labels:

Thursday, August 23, 2007

Avatarding.



I refuse to admit that I am an Avatard.
I enjoy the show.
I really like it.
I do!

I'll admit that I'm an anime nerd and all kinds of other embarassing things, but I just can't fall into the Avatarding.

With THAT said, let's talk about Avatar: The Last Airbender upcoming new season, shan't we?? As usualy, I'm behind the whole entire world and only got around to watch the season 3 trailer that someone filmed during the Comic-con panel. I have to admit, I got a little pitter-patter in my heart over it... ESPECIALLY since it seems like it's a season full of awesome action. I'm a sucker for good action stuff.

I am also amused by the indications of time passing by all the hair-changing that our main characters has gone through. Namely, Aang's hair and Zuko's flowing locks, so it seems. No doubt the fangirls are going to trip all over themselves over him even more. Including me, I'm thinking (YEAH-YAH BABY! PRINCE of EMO WITH LONG LOCKS GO GO GO!) Though Sokka's still my man! He's a little charmer!

The fanboys are also gonna get some eye-candy with Katara running around in tiny pieces of white cloth. I think everyone wins in this season!

I don't pay much attention to the Avatards and the fandom, so everything that this new season will bring are gonna be plenty of surprises for me. Good surprises, I'm hoping.

Labels:

Saturday, July 21, 2007

There and Back Again

Sorry for all that crazy downtime. Um. I really have no excuse for it except for my own stupidity. That is... I somehow misplaced the files for the site and accidentally overwrote it while working on another website.

Yeah. Homer Simpson 'Do'h!' moment.

But now we are back, and hopefully... we'll stay awhile, with a change here and there on the site. Keep on watching and reading!

I dare say the new Hairy Pooner Harry Potter book came out, did it not? Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows. I missed all the Potter hootie-nannies last night. Instead, I went dancing at the Queen Marys with some friends. I'm a nerd who likes to dance, I can't help it. Plus, standing around in line with a bunch of Potterheads wasn't appealing enough.

Now, if the Weasley Twins were to be my date, then that's a whole different story! But that's pure fantasy in my head!

No, I haven't bought my copy. In fact, I never bought a Harry Potter book in my life-- my mommy buys them. She read them before I did and beat me on the head with them until I finally broke down. Great books, don't get me wrong, but the hype still boggles my mind.

I heard of a story of a certain webstore that "accidentally" shipped the books a few days before it released. Scholastic is throwing a tantrum over it, which has me all dumbfounded. If this has happened to any other books, no one would give a flying pooper over it. Fandom and hype does strange things to the world, I swear.

Ah well. I still look forward to this so-called last book anyways. Though I'm sure there's no way in hell I'm going to be able to avoid spoilers at this point. I'm not one of those who feels the need to read the entire book within a 24-hour period. First off all, I like to read leisurely. Second of all, I'm not crazy. Third of all, I like to actually sleep. Last of all... I'm not crazy.

To each their own though-- happy Potter time to all I hope!

Labels: , ,

Friday, June 01, 2007



I recently saw Wicked in London. I had read the book several years ago and had been given the soundtrack by a friend. Trying to work out the plot of the musical in relation to the songs was interesting. I realised very quickly that lots had changed from the book, but I was ok with that, as I hadn't been thrilled with how the book had ended (even though I knew part of it was inevitable, it was how the author handled the inevitable.) At any rate, I really fell in love with the songs and wanted to go see it properly.

I hadn't been to see a musical in a long time. I used to work in theatre so more often than not I was working the musical rather than seeing it. So, watching it properly was in itself an interesting experience.

The set design was really interesting. It was sort of a frame, with a large mechanical dragon at the top (No, there is no dragon in the play or in Oz at any point in any book, but it looked cool.) Then kind of gears and metal work down the sides with rope lights intertwined. The rest of the sets were generally minimal, but that was ok. It didn't need to be overly complex, it worked better with the simplicity of the original Oz story.

Now, as soon as the musical started, it was clear that you need to view it as an entirely different entity to the book. It has practically nothing but names in common with the book. It's one of the more interesting interpretations really. Bear in mind, the book Wicked is an interpretation of a children's book. The musical is an interpretation of an interpretation, and in some ways comes full circle and becomes more like a fairy tale of the original story.

It has the mixture of the book turning the original Oz world on it's head and looking at it differently, but it gets rid of the darker side that Gregory Maguire wrote about. It's also added greater depth to some of the relationships than there ever were in the book.

What I think is the final interesting point is that it is truly a musical reflective of the time it was written in. So many of its themes are about political themes current today. It is, in many ways, an allegory, but a well done allegory. It's not subtle, but it's not a hammer to the head either.

I'm not going to give away the plot, because I think everyone should go see it. Yeah, so it's only in London right now, but if it ever comes your way, go see it. It seems simple on the surface, but look a bit deeper and go down the rabbit hole. Or tornado, whatever.

Labels: ,

Saturday, May 12, 2007

I saw the Bridge to Terabithia. I cried. You should go see it too.


It's an absolutely beautiful film, with good child acting. It's like one of those classic kids films that came out a lot in the early 90s. My Girl, Now and Then, Gold Diggers. Ok, so most of the ones I listed there were girly films, but I can't remember a whole lot of them. I do remember every summer there being a good live action kids film worth seeing, though, and it seems lately that's died off...until now.

Go see it.

Labels: ,

Sunday, April 08, 2007

Double movie post!

I saw TMNT (I can't believe the actual name of the movie is that. What's wrong with spelling it out? Acronyms are evil. EVIL.) and I also saw The Last Mimzy.

First: TMNT
I loved it. It was great. It was everything I wanted from a Turtle movie. It made me chuckle, the voice acting was awesome, and the story was fun. I had my doubts at the beginning, but they pulled it off. My only major complaint was that some of shots pulled me out of the movie because they were just so...3D Studio Max. It just felt like I could see them fiddling with the camera in the program, and it pulled me out of the story.

Besides that, the movie was just down right fun. It didn't take itself too seriously. And it didn't try to be epic, which was what I had feared. I also enjoyed how it was kind of...the sequel to the other movies. It didn't ignore what they had done in the live action ones, which just felt right.

And for you Avatar fans, spot Uncle Iroh! Or should I say, hear?

Second: The Last Mimzy
Okay...I didn't really know what to think going into this film. I had just seen a preview for it and it looked really fun. I thought it was going to be much more connected to Alice in Wonderland. The acting was fine, the kids weren't amazing, but they weren't bad either. Timothy Hutton and Joely Richardson were great. There was a lot going on there, even if they didn't cover it much. There just felt like there was something lacking. They tied up all the loose ends, they had closure and all that, but it seemed to lack something. I just can't quite figure out what.

The story is essentially that someone from the future sends back these 'toys' that are found by two kids on a beach. They start learning from the toys and their brains get all advanced. They can teleport stuff, use telekinesis, that sort of thing. But when the adults start catching on, all hell breaks loose. They need to send one of the toys back to the future to save mankind, and of course the adults start getting in the way.

It's worth a viewing, but probably best as a rental rather than full price.

Lastly: Season 2 of Battlestar Galactica
My thoughts: *SPOILERS*
I was so annoyed that Apollo's arrow actually turned out to be an arrow. I mean, HELLO, we missed a chance of awesome symbolism if Apollo Adama had been the arrow.

I was convinced the end of the season was a dream...but I guess not! It's a brilliant move by the writers though. I mean, they knew the rehash of a crisis every week was going to bore the audience to tears. So now we've got to catch up on a year of what has happened and some how rescue everyone from New Caprica.

Starbucks extensions looked horrible. But I liked Admiral Adama's tache. It was awesome.

But the absolute HIGHLIGHT of the season was Dean Stockwell. I just sat their going "Al, it's Al. Oh my God, it's Al!" He's just frakking awesome. He is by far my favourite Cylon.

***Spoiler's End***

Labels: ,

Saturday, March 10, 2007


When I was in 7th and 8th grade I read every single Poirot book I could get my hands on. I loved trying to figure out who the murderer was before Poirot did. But the problem with some of Agatha Christie's later books was she didn't actually present all the clues to solve the murder. It was frustrating because I felt lied to; like there'd been a secret I hadn't been party to, which made me look like an idiot when the truth came out. "Well, everyone knew Dave had an evil twin brother who'd been locked in an insane asylum 30 years ago." Gee, how could I have guessed that?

This was the same problem with The Illusionist. The movie, in essence, is about the rekindling of a childhood romance. That sounds boring, but with the added wonder of it having a Magician, it sounded like it was going to be a fun film. The acting in it is great, I can't fault that. I can't even fault the story, it's got some good twists and interesting characters. What I fault is that the magic tricks are done with CGI. Now that may seem like a weird fault in this day and age, but this is a period movie. By doing the magic tricks with today's technology, the director denied the audience the chance to question how the trick was done and even whether or not it was a trick.

This may seem pithy when you have a good plot and characters, but the movie is a "Who-dunnit?" and because the illusions were actually CGI, the audience wasn't presented with the clues properly. This made the revelation at the end feel cheapened because you couldn't have predicted it on mere facts, only on cliché plot archetypes.

And yes, having a revelation and a twist at the end is becoming completely cliché with movies involving magicians.

I think most people will enjoy the film, but for me, part of the enjoyment was lost because it wasn't staying true to its period, and missed out on getting a really interesting insight into what it meant to be an illusionist in that era.

Labels: , ,

A B O U T - U S

we are purtiful

We are self-proclaimed girl-GEEKS who needed a place to write about it! We don't really do anything special with our lives, but we do enjoy the occasional comic book or fantasy film. Also, the occasional pie. With ice cream. Yeah. Ice cream.

P H O T O S

ARCHIVE
February 2007
March 2007
April 2007
May 2007
June 2007
July 2007
August 2007
September 2007
October 2007
December 2007
January 2008
February 2008
March 2008
November 2008
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2009
August 2009
September 2009
October 2009
November 2009
December 2009
January 2010
February 2010

C O N T A C T
diavana@defectivegeeks.com

C A T E G O R I E S


TAGS
art, art show, bubblepunch, comiccon, comics, cosplay, costumes, crusaders and haters, david mack, disneyland, edwardian ball 2009, food, francis magalona, halloween, harry potter, hello kitty, heroes, hollywood, japan, japanology, kevin smith, long beach comic con, lord of the rings, mad tea party, movie, pirate festival, rant, royal-t, san diego comic con, sanrio, sdcc, sdcc 2009, shiny party, social networking, star trek, street fighter, stupidity, superhero facebook, things to buy, three apples, travel, tv show, twitter, watchmen, wii, zippercut